Feathers

“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.”~ Robert Brault

Hummingbird Feather

I recently received a SPECIAL DELIVERY. Left as a gift on a red gerbera daisy, this small hummingbird feather delights me. Until this year, in the midst of a wild abandon of gerbera daisy blooms, I didn’t know hummingbirds fed on gerbers.

Skywatch Friday Feather

As of now, the feather sits on a window sill, the end weighted down with a pebble, waiting for me to decide how to best preserve it. Any ideas?

Lincoln Penny with Hummingbird Feather

This photograph is part of Skywatch Friday.

14 comments on “Feathers

  1. Eileen says:

    Wow, I never seen a hummingbird feather. It is neat seeing the size next to the penny. Pretty Gerbera Daisy. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Timelesslady says:

      Thanks Eileen. I was shocked to find the feather. I have seen the hummingbirds sipping the nectar on the gerbera daisies, and saw a dark shadow, and there was the miniature feather. Sweet!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t even know if hummingbirds are common in this part of our world. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lea says:

    What an amazing find! We have Hummingbirds here, but I have never seen a loose feather like that. Maybe it is because it is so small. Now I am going outside and look closely at the plants underneath the feeders
    Have a great week-end!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Peter B. says:

    Pretty amazing! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a hummingbird feather before.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ren says:

    What a wonderful find! How to preserve such a tiny beauty? Good question. Maybe laminate it between two sheets of laminate? with dried flower petals ?
    This is my first year in southern California. I am amazed at all the hummingbirds here. And like others have commented …. I have never seen a hummingbird feather. It must be ‘symbolic’.
    Thank you for finding, liking and commenting on my blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Timelesslady says:

      Thanks Ren. laminate would be a good choice, and I have used it. Another idea would be resin, but I have never used it and might make a horrible mess. I thought the feather might look nice inside a clam shell and made into a pendant…a good addition would be your dried flowers idea. I’ll have to post when I decide what to do with it. In the meantime I have to find a safer place before it blows away.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim Smyth says:

    What a neat find! Not sure how to preserve it, between the pages of a heavy book?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

