Bare Branches – Morning Skywatch

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” ~ Lamentations 3:22-23

In the warmer weather, early morning finds me on my porch swing, sipping coffee, listening to the birds, and communing with my Lord and Savior. My Bible and devotional books sit beside me in a big tote bag. I find that having them collected and at the ready saves me trying to gather what I need. I have my reading glasses on and a pen in my hand. These moments of peace and quietude are the best part of every day.

From my vantage point I see many green trees in the distance, and among them, is one branch barren of all leaves. This is the area I focus on. Birds of all types land on these branches and begin the morning by preening their feathers. I’ve come to realize that as they preen they are vulnerable to hidden predators, the leafless branches give them a better view of possible threats. Most folks would think this branch an eyesore and a needless part of the tree, but it serves a great purpose for the birds and also gives me many minutes of enjoyment as I watch the early morning grooming of feathers and beaks.

These photos are a part of Skywatch Friday.New Jersey, USA

Leave a Reply

